You are here:

Contact Us

​​​​​​​​​​​General queries should be directed to our Customer Centre  at 01 678 2896.

If you would like to Ask a Geologist a question, please email the Duty Geologist at Duty.Geologist[AT]gsi.ie.

For Planning enquiries or submissions, please email the Planning programme at GSIPlanning[AT]gsi.ie

For Media enquiries, please contact Siobhán Power at Siobhan.Power[AT]gsi.ie

 

Our postal address is:

Geological Survey Ireland
Beggars Bush
Haddington Road
Dublin
D04 K7X4
Ireland



Mailing list


@GeolSurvIE

GeolSurvIE


Geological Survey Ireland

Geological Survey Ireland

Please note that due to the nature of their work, some of our programmes have dedicated mailing lists and social media accounts, listed below along with our full staff list contact details. [AT] stands for @ in email addresses.

 

Administration
NameRoleAreas of expertise​Email addressTelephone
Caroline GreenHead of Administration​caroline.green[AT]gsi.ie​ 01-678 2681​
​Gerald McTiernanHigher Executive Officer​​Finance, Procurement, Climate Actiongerald.mctiernan[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 2950​
​Frankj DalyHigher Executive Officer​​Finance, Procurement, Climate Actionfrankj.daly[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 2585​
Les FoxExecutive Officer les.fox[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2896
​Terry McGuinness​Executive Officer​​terry.mcguinness[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2815
​Caroline O'Shea​Clerical Officer​​caroline.oshea[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2841
​Garreth Kenny​Clerical Officer​​garreth.kenny[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2812
​Jennifer Houlihan​Services Officer jennifer.houlihan[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2822​
​Stephen O'NeillServices Officer​ stephen.oneill[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2880​
​Kim MundayClerical Officer​kim.munday[AT]gsi.ie​

 

Central Technical Services

NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
​Core Store, Sandyford​gsi.corestore[AT]gsi.ie 01-294 1227​
Pat O'SullivanContractor                   01-678 2883
​Tony MatersonContractor​​01-678 2883
​Andy Wilson​Contractor​01-678 2883
​Simon Dowling​Contractor​01-678 2883
​Sean Campbell​Contractor​01-678 2883

 

Drilling Unit
NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
Ger CottSenior Driller​gerard.cott[AT]gsi.ie 087-718 5774
​Jason Rehill​Driller​jason.rehill[AT]gsi.ie
​Oisin O'Briain ​Drilleroisin.obriain[AT]gsi.ie​

 

Geoenergy Programme
NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
Taly Hunter-WilliamsSenior GeologistHydrogeology, Groundwater & Source Protection, Groundwater Resources & Aquifers taly.hunterwilliams[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2780
Brian McConnellPrincipal Geologist​brian.mcconnell[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2850
​Sarah BlakeSenior Geologist​​Geothermal Energy, Groundwater, Karstsarah.blake[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 2646​
Geohazards Programme
NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
Brian McConnellPrincipal Geologist brian.mcconnell[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2850
Charise McKeonGeologist​Landslides, Shipwrecks​charise.mckeon[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2752

 Geoheritage and Planning Programme

NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
​Planning enquiries/submissions​Main contact​GSIPlanning[AT]gsi.ie
​Clare GlanvilleHead of Programme​Geoheritage, Planning, Geoparksclare.glanville[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 ​2837
​Trish SmullenGeologist​trish.smullen[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 2781
​Erin LeahyGraduate Geologist​erin.leahy[AT]gsi.ie​

Geological Mapping
NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
​Geological Mapping InfoMain contact​GeologicalMappingInfo [AT]gsi.ie​
Brian McConnellHead of Programmebrian.mcconnell[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2850
​Sophie O'Connor​Senior Geologist3D Geological Modelling, Geotechnical Data Applications, Urban Geology​sophie.oconnor[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2645
​Clare GlanvilleSenior Geologist​Geoheritage, Planning, Geoparksclare.glanville[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 ​2837
​Markus Pracht​Geologist​Carboniferous, Stratigraphy, Geological Mappingmarkus.pracht[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2838​
​Silvia Caloca​Geologistsilvia.caloca[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2765​
​Beatriz Mozo​Geologist3D Geological Modelling, Geotechnical Data, Urban Geology​beatriz.mozo[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2795​
​Michael Sheehy​Geologist​Quaternary, Ground Motion, Earth Observationmichael.sheehy[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2794​
​Russell Rogers​GeologistGeology, Geological Mapping​russell.rogers[AT]gsi.ie01-678 2816​
​Ivan de Wergifosse​Contractorivan.dewergifosse[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2786​
​Harry Searles
Graduate Geologist​harry.searles[AT]gsi.ie​
​Chris EnglemanContractor​chris.engleman[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 2786​
Barry LongScientific Visitor


 

Geoscience Ireland

NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
Sean FinlayDirector of Business Development ​Business Cluster, Market Research, B2B Facilitation sean.finlay[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2842
​Andrew Gaynor​Business Development Manager​Business Cluster, Market Research, B2B Facilitation andrew.gaynor[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 2673
​Jessica AllenMarket Advisor​​Business Cluster, Market Research, B2B Facilitation​jessica.allen[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2687​

Groundwater and Geothermal Unit

NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
​Groundwater InfoMain contact​​groundwaterinfo[AT]gsi.ie
Monica LeeHead of Unit​Groundwater Resources, Groundwater Vulnerability , Groundwater Source Protection monica.lee[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2784
​Taly Hunter Williams​Senior Geologist​Hydrogeology, Groundwater and Source Protection, Groundwater Resources and Aquifers taly.hunterwilliams[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2780
​Katie Tedd​Senior Geologist​Hydrogeology, Groundwater Resources, Hydrochemistry katie.tedd[AT]gsi.ie​ 01-678 2647​
​Sarah BlakeSenior Geologist​​Geothermal Energy, Groundwater, Karstsarah.blake[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2646
​Ted McCormack​Senior Geologist​Groundwater Flooding, Climate Change, Remote Sensing​ted.mccormack[AT]gsi.ie01-678 2641​
​Caoimhe Hickey​Geologist​Karst and Karst Kydrogeology, Groundwater and Source Protection​​caoimhe.hickey[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2811
Coran KellyContractor​coran.kelly[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2644
Shane CareyData ManagerGIS, Applications Development, Data Management​​shane.carey[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2744
​Robbie Meehan​Contractor​​robbie.meehan[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2646
​Sara Raymond​Contractor​​sara.raymond[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2657
​Natalie Duncan​ContractorHydrogeology​​​natalie.duncan[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2658
​Joe Greene​Contractor​​joe.greene[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2732
​Melissa O'Keefe​HydrogeologistHydrogeology, Groundwater Vulnerability​​​melissa.okeefe[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2669
​Alasdair PilmerContractor​alasdair.pilmer[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 ​2790
​Joan Campanyà i LlovetResearcherGroundwater Flooding, Remote Sensing, Modelling​joan.campanya[AT]gsi.ie​ 01-678 2671​
​Harrison BishopContractor​harrison.bishop[AT]gsi.ie​​01-678 2060
​Philip SchulerContractor​​Karst Hydrogeology, Time Series Analysis, Numerical Modellingphilip.schuler[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 2741​
​Ellen MullarkeyContractor​Hydrogeology, Groundwater Resources​ellen.mullarkey[AT]gsi.ie​
​Monika KabzaHydrogeologistHydrogeology, Groundwater Vulnerability, Source Protection​monika.kabza[AT]gsi.ie​
​Damien DohertyHydrogeologist​Hydrogeology, GWClimate Projectdamien.doherty[AT]gsi.ie​
​Sonja MastersonContractor​​Hydrogeology, Groundwater Time Series, Hydrochemistrysonja.masterson[AT]gsi.ie​
​Simon VokesGraduate Geologist​​simon.vokes[AT]gsi.ie
Information Programme (Information Management and Technology, Communications, Education, Cartography and Archives)
NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
Gráinne O'SheaHead of Programme​GIS, Data Management grainne.nishe[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2764
​Cathal Jordan​GIS officer​Data, Viewers, Downloadscathal.jordan[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 2855​
James TrenchExecutive Engineer james.trench[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2854
​Sophie PréteseilleGeologist​Website and Information Management, Environmental Impact Assessment sophie.preteseille[AT]gsi.ie ​​01-678 2897
​Siobhán Power​Geologist​Communications, Education, Joyce Country & Western Lakes Geopark​siobhan.power[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 2760
​Amrine Dubois Gafar​Joyce Country Project GeologistJoyce Country & Western  Lakes Geopark Project, Education​​amrine.duboisgafar[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 2871
​Eddie McMonagleChief Super​Intendent​GIS, Desktop Publishing, Merchandise Procurement eddie.mcmonagle[AT]gsi.ie​ ​01-678 2803
​Marie Marini​Super​intendent​marie.marini[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2831
​Anne Scanlon​Super​intendent​anne.scalon[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2832
​Eddie Hand​Assistant Super​Intendent​eddie.hand[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2827
​Gerry FrenchAssistant ​Super​Intendent​gerry.french[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2826
​Petra CoffeyScientific Visitor​​01-678 2873

Marine and Coastal Unit Programme

Name

Role​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
Sean CullenHead of Unit​Hydrography, Vessel Operations sean.cullen[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2810
​Xavier Monteys​Senior Geologist​Marine Geology, Coastal Processes, Remote Sensing​​xavier.monteys[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2807
​Ronan O'TooleSenior Geologist​ronan.otoole[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2806​
​Eoin MacCraithSenior Geologist​​Marine Geology, Hydrography, Survey Operations​eoin.maccraith[AT]gsi.ie01-678 2797​
​David Hardy​Geologist​Marine Geophysics, Marine Geology, Hydrography david.hardy[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2834
​Charise McKeon​GeologistLandslides, Shipwrecks​ charise.mckeon[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2752
​Louise Marcantonio​Clerical Officer​Accounts, Invoicing louise.marcantonio[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2840
​Niall Finn​Consultant Marine Geoscientist​Seabed Mapping, Marine Survey, Tide Gauges niall.finn[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2131
​Kieran Craven​CHERISH Project​Quaternary Geology, Coastal Change, Climate Impacts kieran.craven[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2667
James BarryCHERISH Project​Unmanned Aerial Vehicle, LiDAR and Hydrographic Surveys james.barry[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2855
Janine Guinan Consultant Marine Geoscientist​Graduate training, Data products, European projects​janine.guinan[AT]gsi.ie 086-106 1753
​Rose Jebb​Hydrographic Data ProcessorHydrographic Data Processing​​rose.jebb[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2701
​Padraig CroninContractor​padraig.cronin[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2701​
​Peter HeathData Manager​Data GIS Managementpeter.heath[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2643​
​Trevor AlcornGIS Specialist​Data Management, GIS, Marine Geoscience​trevor.alcorn[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678  2701
​Aileen BohanHydrographer Geologist​Marine Geology, Hydrography, Seabed Mappingaileen.bohan[AT]gsi.ie​
​Felim O'TooleContractor​Hydrographic Surveys, Deep Sea Habitat Mapping, Unmanned Aerial Vehicle Surveys​​felim.otoole[AT]gsi.ie

Minerals Programme

NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
​Eoin McGrathHead of Programme​Minerals, Mining, Raw Materialseoin.mcgrath[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2863​
​Laura Smith​Geologist​Resource Exploration, Seismic Processing, Data Analyticslaura.smith[AT]gsi.ie ​​01-678 2853
​Des Johnston​Contractor​des.johnston[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2852
​Tim WorkmanContractor​tim.workman[AT]gsi.ie​01-678 ​2851
Andrew Leslie​Graduate Geologistandrew.leslie[AT]gsi.ie​

Research Management

NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
​Research InformationMain contact​research[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2650​
Aoife BraidenResearch Manager​Research Management aoife.braiden[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2650
​Ana Luísa LavadoResearch Officer​​Research Managementanaluisa.lavado[AT]gsi.ie​
Senior Management
NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
Koen VerbruggenDirector​Geology Management, Marine Geology, Mineral Exploration koen.verbruggen[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2864
​Ray Scanlon​Principal Geologist​ray.scanlon[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2740
​Monica Lee​Principal Geologist​Groundwater Resources, Groundwater Vulnerability , Groundwater Source Protection ​monica.lee[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2784
​Sean CullenPrincipal Geologist​​Hydrography, Vessel Operations sean.cullen[AT]gsi.ie​ 01-678 2810
​Brian McConnellPrincipal Geologist​brian.mcconnell[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2850​
Caroline GreenAssistant Principal Officercaroline.green[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2681
Eddie McMonagleChief Super​Intendent​GIS, Desktop Publishing, Merchandise Procurement  eddie.mcmonagle[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2803

Tellus Programme

NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
Tellus Freephone Information LineMain contact tellus[AT]gsi.ie 1800 45 55 65
​James HodgsonHead of Programme​Geophysics, Radon, Geochemistry Operations​ jim.hodgson[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2742
​Mairéad GlennonSenior Geologist​Environmental Geoscience, Geochemistry, Soil​ mairead.glennon[AT]gsi.ie​ 01-678 2761​
​Vincent GallagherContractor vincent.gallagher[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2688​
​Emma Scanlon​Contractor​Communications, Outreach emma.scanlon[AT]gsi.ie ​​01-678 2280
​Mohammednur TureContractor​ mohammednur.ture[AT]gsi.ie​ 01-678 2817​
​Judith MatherContractor​​Geochemical Sampling, Fieldwork Operations​judith.mather[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2866
​Michal Szpak​Project Geochemist​Geochemistry, Data Management, Environmental Sciencemichal.szpak[AT]gsi.ie ​​01-678 2787
​Mark MullerContractor​​Geophysicsmark.muller[AT]gsi.ie​
​James SymonsGraduate Geologist​james.symons[AT]gsi.ie​
​Margaret BrowneData ManagerGIS, Data Management​margaret.browne[AT]gsi.ie​

Urban Geology Programme​

NameRole​Areas of expertiseEmail addressTelephone
Sophie O'ConnorSenior Geologist3D Geological Modelling, Geotechnical Data Applications, Urban Geology​ sophie.oconnor[AT]gsi.ie 01-678 2645
​Beatriz MozoGeologist​​3D Geological Modelling, Geotechnical Data, Urban Geologybeatriz.mozo[AT]gsi.ie ​01-678 2795​