The audit of County Geological Sites in Co. Laois was completed in 2016. The audit was carried out by Matthew Parkes, Ronan Hennessy, Robert Meehan, Vincent Gallagher and Sarah Gatley. The Laois Geological Heritage Project was supported by the Heritage Council, the Geological Survey Ireland and the Laois County Council. The resulting report was an action of the County Laois Heritage Plan 2014 - 2019. The report can be downloaded below:

Main Report and Appendices (63.3 Mb)

Site Reports (26.4 Mb)

Individual Site Reports
- Abbeyleix Bog
- Arless Quarry
- Ballyadams Quarry
- Baunreagh Quarry
- Carrolls Quarry
- Castlecomer Borehole - Swan
- Clogh River
- Clonaslee Eskers
- Clopook Cave
- Darkin Well
- Farnans Quarry
- Flemings Fireclay Quarries
- Glebe Quarry
- Glenbarrow
- Hollymount
- Killeany Quarry
- Killeshin Glen
- Kyle Spring
- Lisduff Quarry
- Luggacurren Fireclay Pit
- Luggacurren Stream Section
- M7 Road Cut Derryvorrigan
- M8 Road Cut Addergoole
- Modubeagh
- Moyadd Stream
- Old Rossmore
- Poulastore
- Rathleague Spring
- Ridge of Portlaoise
- Rock of Cashel
- Rock of Dunamase
- Sluggory Cross Roads
- Timahoe Esker

GIS, shapefiles
- LS_ITM_Zip_File (50 Kb)

Recommended citation:
Parkes, M., Hennessy, R., Meehan, R., Gallagher, V. and Gatley, S. 2016. The Geological Heritage of Laois County. An audit of County Geological Sites in County Laois. Geological Survey Ireland. Unpublished Report.