Cunningham College Prize 2014
The Cunningham College Prizes, established in memory of Dr Mark Cunningham, ex-Assistant Director of GSI, recognise the continuing importance of field mapping in developing observational and interpretative skills in geology. Two prizes of equal standing are awarded to the best field mapping projects examined in Irish 3rd level colleges that year.

The prize winners for 2014 are

Eoghan Corbett and Gary O'Sullivan, Trinity College, Dublin for their joint project The Geology of Northern Syros, Cycladic Island, Greece


Hugh O'Keeffe, University College, Cork for his project The geology of Ballybunion, Co. Kerry, Ireland

Cunningham College Prize winners
L-R Gary O'Sullivan (Trinity College, Dublin), Mike Garvey (representing the Cunningham family), Eoghan Corbett (Trinity College, Dublin)
and Brian McConnell (Geological Survey of Ireland)

College Prize presentation
L-R Mike Garvey (representing the Cunningham family), Clementine O'Keeffe who accepted the award on behalf of her son Hugh
and Brian McConnell (Geological Survey of Ireland)

View list of previous winners